Dancing Orbs and Rock Houses

Clouds and rocks will never be the same.

I will forever be looking for the “hole in the clouds” with the promise of the dancing Northern Lights, and I will always wonder if a particular rock is home to a hidden family.

I know, you think I’m crazy.

I thought the first seven people who told me about the “families hiding in rocks” were crazy, too, but as time went by, I came to realize that Icelanders really believe in their Elves, or Hidden People, or inhabitants of the rocks. 

And I became FASCINATED.

There are hundreds of stories, so many in fact, that these people sincerely believe that families live in rocks. Some say they are small people, some say they are large, but all agree that most of us can’t see them. Clairvoyants can always see and talk to them. 

Uh huh.

But it’s so serious that they will change the course of a road’s construction to avoid moving or cutting into certain rocks. A popular story centers around a major road project that kept having machinery meltdowns when they tried to move some rocks. A Medium was called in, and she confirmed that the family in the rocks didn’t want to move, so the road was rerouted….and there were no more problems with the heavy equipment.

There are a lot of books written about these Elves. I almost bought one, but it was more expensive than a new car.

Everyone had a story.

One man got in a car accident, and he and the mangled car ended up next to a pile of rocks. The car was totaled and by all accounts, the man should not have survived. He hired a clairvoyant to come talk to the family in the rock, and the family told the clairvoyant that yes, they took care of him after the accident. He then asked the clairvoyant to ask the family if he could pay to have the rock moved to his property, and they said that would be ok, they’d love to live by him. Apparently both the man and the “family” are happy.

I was told both of those stories more than once.

Toward the end of my journey, I was with a guide who seemed pretty straightforward and practical. A no-nonsense kind of guy.

I asked if this rock stuff was just for the tourists, just folklore, or if they really believed it.

He said that Icelanders truly believed it, that almost everyone had a personal story or encounter, and those who didn’t, bought into the “you can’t prove a negative” theory.

He showed me homes that were built right up to huge rock formations, and said that those rocks definitely housed Elves. They brought good fortune to the people who lived in the brick and mortar home.

He told me that he once saw a miniature girl standing next to a rock, waving at him. The people he was with couldn’t see her. 

He waved back, delighted.

So I became addicted to rocks. Why not? 

I began to look in every nook and cranny, every crevasse. I never saw a little girl. Somehow I pictured Shirley Temple’s Heidi, bouncy brown curls, about a foot tall, waving from between two rocks.

Nope. Never saw her.

Nor did the clouds ever do a miraculous parting, like the Red Sea, to reveal the blue, green and purple dancing orbs of light that are shown on National Geographic. But that never stopped me from looking. Even during the meager daylight hours, which could never produce the spectacle. 

So I know I’m going to get back to California, and I’ll be craning my neck…back and forth between the clouds and the rocks, looking for my friends, both the dancing orbs and waving Heidi’s.

Leave a Reply

